We Cain Do It!

Yes, we Cain!  WOOHOO!  The big news of the day is that the Giants signed Matt Cain to a multi-year contract.  I really didn’t think they were going to pull this one off, but I guess Matt really did want to stay with the Giants.  His contract is the highest per year contract for a right-handed pitcher EVER!  Way to back up that commitment to your pitching staff, Sabean!  Here are the details (thanks to Andrew Baggarly):  He gets $100 million over the next 5 years with a $5 million signing bonus.  The team also has a $21 million option on him for the 6th year if he doesn’t meet certain starts and innings goals.  If he meets the goals, it becomes Matt’s option.  If he doesn’t meet the goals, the Giants can buy him out for $7.5 million, or if he does meet the goals but declines their offer, he would still get the $7.5 million.  So that’s a guaranteed average of $22.5 million for the next 5 years.  He must be so relieved that this is over and now he can concentrate on his pitching again without distractions.  I am relieved that my boy will be with us for at least another 5 years!  He has been so consistent and such a great influence in the clubhouse, and he’s just such a great all-around guy.  Congrats, Matt!

In some sad news (yes, Nick, I’m finally getting to this), one of the Oh Boys was released on waivers.  We lost Mike Fontenot this week.  There was just no room for him on the roster, and since the team needs more right-handed batters (they did horribly against left-handed pitchers during Spring Training) they kept the other Oh Boy, Ryan Theriot, instead.  For those who are learning about baseball with me, righties tend to hit better against lefties, and vice versa (learned that from my bros – came in handy when selecting batters for the Beat the Streak hitting contest I was in last year).  Best of luck to you, Mike.  Thanks for all of your contributions to the team.  I’m sure that your buddy Ryan is extra sad to see you go.

I’m getting really anxious about the fate of my boy, Eli.  Everyone’s been raving about the job that Hector Sanchez has been doing.  He’s had a tremendous batting average over the Spring and his catching skills have been getting better.  If he ends up on the team, that pushes off either Chris or Eli, and it’s not looking good for Eli as he is the only one of the two that has minor league options left.  I’m hoping that I won’t have to go to Fresno to watch him this season.  Keeping my fingers crossed for you, Eli!  We should find out in the next few days when the 40-man roster is finalized.

There are a few more things I’ve learned during Spring Training that I’d like to share.  I learned that during the Spring, teams purposefully won’t play their regular starting pitchers in games against a division rival so that they don’t get a “free look” at their pitching abilities.  Pretty clever, boys!  I also learned from Dave Fleming that “cheese” equals “fastball”.  He was referring to Brandon Crawford after he hit a 3-run homerun on a fastball this weekend, and he said, “He likes cheese!”  Love the lingo!  Maybe I’ll sneak some cheddar into the envelope when I re-send Brandon his “Thanks For Not Spitting” certficate!

I think I’ll leave it at that tonight.  Gonna go and watch the exhibition game against the A’s right now.  I’m soooooo excited that I can watch games regularly again!  Get ready for the spit counts!  GO GIANTS!!

Update:  The game is being shown on the A’s channel.  This is too weird.  Where are my Kruk and Kuip?  Kuip’s brother is announcing, but it’s not the same.  I don’t like this!!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

