No Joy in Mudville Tonight

“Oh somewhere in this favored land the sun is shining bright:

The band is playing somewhere, and somewhere hearts are light,

And somewhere women are laughing, and somewhere children shout;

But there is no joy in Mudville – mighty Eli got sent down.”

(Edited version of Casey at the Bat by Ernest Lawrence Thayer)

Well, I can’t say that I’m surprised, but I’m depressed.  Due to the fabulous performance from Hector Sanchez over Spring Training, the Giants decided to go with him as their backup catcher to Buster Posey.  That left my main boy, Eli Whiteside, off the roster.  As of today, he has been optioned to Triple-A Fresno.  Gone are the days of seeing his curly white locks in the clubhouse.  Oh well, at least he is still part of the Giants organization, though probably the oldest minor leaguer they have.  And at least he’ll fit right in to the Fresno culture with that accent, and I can make road trips down there to see him (Dianna – do you have an extra room I can borrow??).  He is getting some positive press through this thing, with Bochy saying that the option was “…difficult.  Whitey’s so well thought of.”  Even Mr. Negativity, Ray Ratto, said that Eli has a reputation as a “handler of pitchers.”  I still plan on giving you Eli updates, but it just won’t be the same.  Goodbye and good luck, my friend.  Who knows – maybe he’ll be back up someday (I am the eternal optimist).

But remember – Eli was not the only other catcher on the team.  What of the fate of Chris Stewart, last year’s all-around Spit Master General?  I really thought the Giants would keep him on the team as a third catcher because of his great arm (and because he had no more minor league options left), but alas, that just goes to show I still know little about the workings of baseball.  Chris Stewart was traded to the New York Yankees today for right-handed pitcher George Kontos.  I’m going to miss that boy, especially after I met him at FanFest this year.  And to the Yankees???  Maybe Andres Torres can show him the ropes once he gets out there (remember that Torres was traded to the New York Mets).  Good luck to you, Chris.  I hope you get to play a lot out there.  I’m going to have to send his Spit Master General certificate to New York.

Here’s the final Giants Opening Day Roster:

Pitchers (12)
Jeremy Affeldt LHP
Madison Bumgarner LHP
Matt Cain RHP
Santiago Casilla RHP
Clay Hensley RHP
Tim Lincecum RHP
Javier Lopez LHP
Guillermo Mota RHP
Dan Otero RHP
Sergio Romo RHP
Brian Wilson RHP
Barry Zito LHP

Catchers (2)
Buster Posey  C
Hector Sanchez C

Infielders (7)
Brandon Belt IF/OF
Emmanuel Burriss IF
Brandon Crawford IF
Aubrey Huff IF/OF
Brett Pill IF/OF
Pablo Sandoval IF
Ryan Theriot IF

Outfielders (4)
Gregor Blanco OF
Melky Cabrera OF
Angel Pagan OF
Nate Schierholtz OF

Thank you to Nate Stuhlberg at CSN Bay Area for the list.  Lots of new kids on the block.  I guess Bochy has gotten over keeping the veterans and not using the kids.  I think we’ll definitely see more offense this year from this lineup.  Can’t wait for the real season to start.

Speaking of the real season, there’s one other Giants-related thing that I’m excited about. Ginny (and possibly Tom and maybe Delma if she wants to) and I are going to the Opening Day Viewing Party at AT&T Park on Friday.  If anyone else wants to come, I’ll be there – give me a call and we can meet up.  I’m really looking forward to hanging out with my buddies and cheering on the boys with tons of other Giants fans.  That should be so much fun.  Maybe it will help me get over my depression.

I’ll miss you, Eli.  But the show must go on.  GO GIANTS!

5 comments

  1. Dave Benz

    Great post Carm. Eli might very well be back again this season but if he does return it will mean something went wrong. Only another injury or major struggles by Sanchez will land Eli back up here. I like Eli a lot but I think Sanchez could be a future stud so I’m hoping Eli isn’t needed again any time soon.

  2. giantsfancarm

    Thanks for the support you guys! You are the greatest! Unfortunately, Dave is right on with his comment – something bad will have to happen for Eli to come back. I can’t wish for that. Guess Fresno isn’t that far away. Will just have to hope that Hector the Kid can come through for us. He definitely has a lot of potential. Maybe Eli can come back as a coach sometime in the future (Kruk thinks he has that potential).

  3. Dianna

    Carm, anytime you want to come to Madera, you know you are welcome! I’ll even have a room for you – of course, you’ll have to share it with the cats! You’ll need to come down when the Grizzlies are in town and we’ll go to the game! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

