I Love This Team!

I was lucky enough to go to the Giants game today.  Got free tickets through Manny again (it was Star Wars Day, and they gave away a Death Star that looked like a baseball).  The game started out great, with Barry pitching really well (5 strikeouts in 2 innings – sorry Brian, you really have to give the guy some credit) and the boys each contributing to get 4 runs in the first inning.  But alas, in the 6th inning, the D-Bags came back and took a 7 to 4 lead.  The middle innings of the game were really depressing, and unusually quiet at AT&T.  The only sound was the moaning after each consecutive hit from the D-Bags, and I even caught myself yawning at one point.  Then in the 7th, my boys got another run in.  But the D-Bags answered back in the 8th with a run.  That didn’t stop my boys!  In the 8th, they scored 2 runs to get within a run, and then in the 9th they tied it up!  The fans were losing their minds (myself included)!  It was so wonderfully loud in there again!  Romo held them beautifully in the top of the 10th, then at the end of that inning, Ginny’s boy Brandon Crawford started off with a hit, then Brett Pill laid down the perfect bunt to get him over to second, Angel Pagan made contact and moved him to third, and our hero Marco Scutaro hit a sweet one down the left field line to bring Brandon in and win the game!  What a great effort by my boys!  Plus I got to watch Eli warming up the pitchers in the bullpen!  And to top it all off, I got to hear Tony sing!  Thanks so much for making this possible, Manny!

What a difference a year can make.  Last year, if we were losing 7-4 in the 6th inning it would basically be “game over.”  This year, they have had so many come-from-behind wins that in the same situation you figure they still have a chance.  And it’s so wonderful that things are gelling and everyone is contributing right now.  This is so exciting!  Even the brand new guys are contributing:  Xavier Nady (Bochy calls him “X”) who came up from the minors on Saturday already hit a base-clearing double in his first game that ended up being the game-winning hit, and relief pitcher Jean Machi had his Major League debut today and retired three of the D-Bags heavy hitters in order.  So lovely!!  Who’s worried about the big spending Dodgers now??  Not me!  Just hoping that the pitchers can keep it together through September as they are starting to show some signs of fatigue.  Luckily the other players on the team are finally giving them the support they deserve.

I do feel that I had a little something to do with the win today.  I took the famous rubber snake to the game, and we (especially Manny’s daughter, Sophia) were punching it constantly.  We got several people around us to punch it as well.  I also turned my hat into a rally hat (inside out) at the bottom of the 8th inning, just when the game started to turn around.  This was the very first time I had ever tried the rally hat, and I know one thing – it won’t be the last!

If you watched (or listened to) the game today, please share your joy.  I am still smiling.  By the way, since it was Star Wars day, they were showing the Giants players on the big screen dressed in a Jedi cloak.  My opinion – Marco Scutaro looked the most natural in said cloak.  Hmmm…he ended up hitting in the game winning run.  Coincidence??  Sergio Romo looked pretty cute in the robe, too.  He was a close second.

I’m so jazzed that I’m going to the Dodgers game on Friday night with my sis.  Need to make a poster this week.  It’s going to say, “Sister Gamer Babes Say ‘Beat LA!’”  WOOHOO!!  I may be doing more of these mini-blogs more often because I just haven’t had big blocks of time lately to do longer ones, and I hate to have such large gaps between blogs.  The lessons and spit counts will still be coming (in fact I have 3 spit counts awaiting publishing), just not as often.  Until next time, GO GIANTS!!  Beat the D-Bags and LA!!

Leave a Reply

