Hot Water for Sergio

Today we have another episode in the continuing saga, “Don’t Put Sports Heroes on a Pedestal.”  According to various sources, Sergio Romo was briefly detained by police at McCarran International Airport in Las Vegas on New Year’s Day after an argument with TSA officers that got out of hand.  Romo could not produce the proper identification to board his plane, his temper got the best of him, and he landed in handcuffs.  One source mentioned that alcohol may have contributed to the situation.  He was not allowed to board his plane, taken to the airport police station, cited for violating airport rules, and then released.  I know I should know better and not think of these guys as more than human, but I personally was extremely disappointed to hear this, especially since Sergio is so popular with kids.  One more bubble burst for me.  And for my mom – he’s one of her favorites.

On the Brian Wilson front, according to Scott Miller of CBSSports.com, as many as 10 teams are interested in hiring “The Beard”.  Wilson has narrowed down his list to 5 teams that he would be interested in playing for, but no mention of whether the Giants are on that list.  Henry Schulman of the Chronicle tweeted on Dec. 1st that Wilson has “zero interest” in resigning with the Giants because he’s still hurt over being dropped by the team.  Brian’s been cleared by his doctor for Spring Training and will be ready to play by Opening Day.  More waiting for us fans, I guess.  I would think we should hear something within the next month as Spring Training nears, but it’s sure not sounding good.

Finally, here are some great quotes from the Giants amazing 2012 season to tide you over while you are waiting for our boys to start playing again.  Most of the quotes are from the players themselves and take you through the season from start to finish.  I was lucky enough to be at the game mentioned in Cincinnati where Angel hit a game-winning homer and also the game where Brandon Crawford ran for Aubrey Huff.  Reading them brought back lots of great (and some not so great) memories for me.  I hope you enjoy them.

News has been pretty non-existent lately, but if I hear anything I’ll be sure to share it, and if I miss something, please let me know.  Getting tired of turning on KNBR and hearing only about football and basketball.  Only 36 days until FanFest!!  GO GIANTS!!

One comment

  1. jimsgin

    That is very disappointing about Sergio. Hope he gets his stuff together. I am so looking forward to Fanfest, it’s on my calendar and the days can’t go fast enough. Hope you had a nice holiday and thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

