Still Looking Good (except when they spit)

I’ll start out by mentioning that I have three spit counts for you today.  I’ve decided to put them in at the end of the blog because I found out that my brother, Nick, skips over them.  This will make it easier on him.  Nick, I’ll warn you when to stop reading, OK??

So the hitting has not been as outstanding as it was at first, but it’s hanging in there.  There are six guys right now hitting .295 or above, and one of those is a pitcher!  Could you believe Madison’s grand slam the other night?  Way to help yourself out!  The other guys who are hot with the hitting, in decending order of batting average, are Angel, Brandon Hicks, Michael, Brandon Crawford, and Buster.  Crawford’s stats stand out in that he is hitting .500 against lefties, whereas he hit less than .200 vs. lefties last season.  And what about that walk-off splash homer today vs. a lefty??  Still waiting for Hunter’s and Pablo’s bats to come alive, but Pablo has shown some improvement in the last couple of games.  It’s nice to have some offense since the pitching has been kind of scary.  But even that has gotten better, as Madison and Tim Hudson have been solid and Matt had a great outing yesterday (but didn’t get the win as the boys, once again, couldn’t give the guy any run support).  As it stands right now, we’re one game behind the Dodgers in the NL West, so I’m hoping we can at least win the series we have against them this week and tie for the lead.  Of course, sweeps are always nice!

I went to the game on Wednesday night vs. the D-Bags with my sister, my brother Nick, and my mom came with us.  This was only her second game at AT&T.  For the previous one, we sat in the sky, so we promised her we would get better seats this time.  They were amazing – Field Level section 110 – close to the best seats I’ve ever had.  So what happens at the start of the game?  They announce our pitcher, and she says, “No, not him!”  It was Timmy!  Poor Timmy!  He’s not getting any love from Mom.  Unfortunately, her concerns were legit – he gave up three runs in the first inning!  Then he gave up another four in the next three.  So much for Mom having a fun night out at the ballpark.  Even after that, she did say she would come with us again.  But what are we going to do about Timmy?  I have to agree with Mom that I am sort of dreading his starts.  I hope he gets things figured out, and quickly!  I’m going to the game on Tuesday vs. the Dodgers with my hubby, my sister, and my niece, and as luck would have it, Timmy’s pitching again.  Gonna wear my Lincecum shirt this time to try and bring him some luck.  He did great on the starts he had when my sister and I were in attendance last year.  Maybe we can get the magic back!

Something happened at the game that night that made us all crack up.  And I don’t know if it’s ever been done before, but I never noticed.  It seemed like the seagulls came in awfully early that night, like during the 5th inning.  And it seemed like there were way more than usual.  The guys in the outfield kept looking up at them like they were surprised, too.  At that point, over the speakers came the command, “Everybody clap your hands!”  They do this during the game to get the excitement level up.  But on this occasion, as we clapped and kept on going, the seagulls started to take off until there were none left!  Then I noticed huge pictures of seagulls on either end of the scoreboard.  So it was planned!  What a great idea!  Am I just clueless, or has anyone else seen this happen before?  Someone who called in to KNBR suggested that the answer to the seagull problem would be to set off fireworks every night cause they hate the loud noise.  Might be worth a try.  That clapping sure worked!

I had an epiphany the other day.  I always get ticked off when guys don’t hustle to first base.  Then the other day I heard on KNBR (my source for so much new baseball knowledge) that there could actually be a reason for that.  If it’s pretty obvious that a guy is going to get thrown out, they don’t want to go all out and risk pulling a hamstring for nothing.  Interesting.  They said Barry Bonds used to do this all the time (then they also made a snarky comment that he was so juiced up, his hamstrings were tighter and more prone to pulling!).

I also made an observation about guys during interviews, especially Brandon Crawford and Buster.  They both say “I mean” a hell of a lot at the beginning of their sentences during interviews.  I estimate each does this at least five times during a single interview.  Brandon even snuck it into his blog the other day!  I think I’ll do an “I mean” count next time one of them speaks on camera.  Brandon did it at least once today after he hit the walk off homerun.  I swear they have a bet going to see how many “I means” they can sneak in.  It would be just like those crazy guys to do something like that.

Brian Sabean announced on CSN that negotiations have stopped with Pablo for the time being.  Apparently the Giants and his people were so far apart in their numbers that it wasn’t worth pursuing.  Plus Sabean said he didn’t want Pablo distracted over the negotiations.  There were rumors that Pablo’s starting point for negotiations was Hunter’s offer last season of 5 years, $90 million.  He better get that average up and make less errors if he wants to garner that.  Wonder if the negotiations were distracting him.  I love Pablo, but his approach at the plate can be so aggravating at times.

I asked for your predictions for this season a couple of blogs ago, and I actually got one response.  It was from my cousin and godson, Joey.  Joey writes, “My prediction: Pence, Morse, Sandoval, Belt, Posey, and Pagan all hit 20+ home runs. They would tie the NL record for a team with most 20 home run hitters. I don’t think Pagan will hit 20 homeruns this year, maybe more around 12, but I am going big. It has been fun to watch the Giants this year. It hasn’t been torture in anyway… ; )”  Sounds good to me!  And I agree – so much less torture this season so far.  Thanks for the predictions, Joey!  Hope they all come true!

I sent out the spit certificates from last season the other day.  I learned the hard way to wait until the beginning of the next regular season to do this.  The first year I sent them out during the off season, and they were returned to me.  The only reason that I bring this up is that they went to some interesting places this year.  Gregor Blanco’s (non-spitter), of course, was sent to AT&T Park.  Kensuke Tanaka’s (non-spitter) was sent to Round Rock, Texas.  He’s currently playing for the Round Rock Express, the Triple-A affiliate for the Texas Rangers.  And Guillermo Moscoso’s (spitter extraordinaire) was sent all the way to Yokohama, Japan.  He’s playing for the Yokohama DeNA BayStars.  You never know where a guy will end up.  Hope the Japanese are putting the pressure on Guillermo to knock off the spitting.

On that note, Nick, you can stop reading now.  Spit counts are coming up.  Thanks for reading this far.

Since I was on Spring Break last week, I was able to do three spit counts.  And one actually made me happy:

April 8th

Giants:

–          Sandoval 6

–          Hudson 4

–          Pagan 3

–          Hicks 2

Diamondbacks:

–          Hill 3

–          Cahill 1

–          Montero 1

–          The Goldschmidt 1

–          Perez 1

Game Spit Master General = Sandoval at 6

That’s a total of 22 spits during a 2 hour and 40 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 7.3 minutes.

That’s the lowest game spit average since I’ve been doing this!  YAY!  However, I can’t get that excited about it.  During this game, I noticed that Tim Hudson is definitely chewing tobacco.  So disappointed.

April 11th

Giants:

–          Sandoval 8

–          Sanchez 6

–          Bochy 5 (all seeds)

–          Bumgarner 3

–          Hicks 2

–          Lopez 1 (seeds)

–          Lefebvre 1

–          Gutierrez 1

–          Perez 1

Rockies:

–          Pacheco 9

–          Lemahieu 3

–          Arenado 2

–          Bettis 2

–          Blackmon 2

–          Tulowitzki 1

Game Spit Master General = Pacheco at 9

Giants Game Spit Master General = Sandoval at 8

That’s a total of 47 spits during a 3 hour and 15 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 4.1 minutes.

I noted that all the Bochy and Lopez spits were sunflower seeds because even though it’s still disgusting, spitting seeds isn’t nearly as bad as spitting spit.  I remembered our Game Spit Master General, Jordan Pacheco, from a previous spit count due to his habit of spitting into his batting glove before ever pitch.  Of course, since this was a Bumgarner start, I did a snot rocket count.  He racked up 7 snot rockets today.  One of the 7 was a celebratory blast after he hit his grand slam!  Kruk even commented on this when it happened!

April 12th

Giants:

–          Sandoval 8

–          Pagan 6

–          Sanchez 4

–          Bumgarner 1

–          Hicks 1

–          Cain 1 (spat out his gum as he came into the dugout)

Rockies:

–          Arenado 4

–          Blackmon 3

–          Lemahieu 3

–          Rosario 3

–          Gonzalez 2

–          Tulowitzki 2

–          Hawkins 2

–          Kahnle 1

–          Culberson 1

–          Wright 1

–          Morneau 1

–          Brothers 1

Misc.:

–          Umpire 7

Game Spit Master General = Sandoval at 8

That’s a total of 52 spits during a 2 hour and 50 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 3.3 minutes.

The home plate umpire for the game, Marvin Hudson, was responsible for all the umpire spits.  I made an interesting observation during this game.  Some of the guys have started chewing gum more on the field, and it causes them to spit less.  Most notably Matt Cain, Buster Posey, and Brandon Belt have been chewing gum and spitting less.  Spread the word!  Please!

Also, today I noticed a new player has been absent thus far from the spit tally.  MICHAEL MORSE!!!  Will keep my eyes on him (which won’t be difficult!), but I’m so hoping that I can add another name to the list of non-spitters.

Keep your fingers crossed that Timmy can come through for us on Tuesday.  Don’t want to witness another blowout.  We need to stick it to the Dodgers any chance we get this season.  Until next time, GO GIANTS!!  BEAT LA!!  BEAT LA!!  BEAT LA!!

 

2 comments

  1. Ricky

    Just noticed Morse adjusting his chewing tobacco in his during tonight’s game. Was 8th or 9th inning after him and Perez nearly collided in left-center.

    • giantsfancarm

      Thanks for your keen observation, Ricky, and welcome to my blog! That’s such a bummer! Will have to keep a closer eye on him during future spit counts. At least his play has been amazing lately.

Leave a Reply

