BREAKING NEWS: Michael Morse Has Achieved Rock Star Status

I’ll start off with the spit counts today as I teased you with them last time, then I’ll fill you in on why Michael Morse is a rock star and has moved up even higher on my list.  So if you don’t care about the spit, scroll on down.  Though you might be surprised!

I actually have three new spit counts for you (forgot about one I did a couple of weeks ago).  Here you go.  Get ready for some surprises!:

May 23rd

Giants:

–          Sandoval 6

–          Sanchez 6

–          Lincecum 1

–          Affeldt 1

–          Posey 1

–          Hicks 1

–          Belt 1

–          Arias 1

Twins:

–          Hicks 5

–          Gibson 3

–          Mauer 2

–          Escobar 1

–          Colabello 1

Misc.:

–          Umpire 1

Game Spit Master General = Tie between Sandoval and Sanchez at 6

That’s a total of 31 spits during a 2 hour and 45 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 5.3 minutes.

We had a guest snot rocket during this game.  Chris Parmelee of the Twins got caught blowing a snot rocket in the outfield.  At least it was just one.

June 7th

Giants:

–          Colvin 14 (!!!!)

–          Hudson 6

–          Sandoval 5

–          Hicks 4

–          Posey 3

–          Pagan 2

–          Righetti 1

–          Bochy 1

Mets:

–          Colon 7

–          Duda 4

–          den Dekker 3

–          Tejada 2

–          Young 1

–          Wright 1

–          Mejia 1

Misc.:

–          Umpire 2

Game Spit Master General = Colvin at 14 (new Giants season record)

That’s a total of 57 spits during a 3 hour and 35 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 3.8 minutes.

This was the first spit count I did of a game where Tyler Colvin played.  I knew this was coming as I had observed him spitting up a storm on days where I didn’t do spit counts.  The reason his count is so high:  he spits into each batting glove before every pitch that is thrown to him.  So totally disgusting!  I think he will probably take over the lead in spit counts this season from Pablo.  And he seems like such a nice boy!

The two umpire spits in this game were both from the first base umpire, Pat Hoberg.  Yes, I mentioned your name.  Umpires have no business spitting.  Wear it.

June 8th

Giants:

–          Colvin 27 (Double !!!!!)

–          Gutierrez 3

–          Hicks 3

–          Sandoval 2

–          Sanchez 2

–          Meulens 2

–          Kelly 2

–          Arias 2

–          Pence 1 (NOOOOO!  Not again!)

–          Lincecum 1

–          Wotus 1

Mets:

–          Duda 2

–          Wheeler 2

–          Tejada 1

–          Young 1

–          Granderson 1

Game Spit Master General = Colvin at 27 (season record for all players)

That’s a total of 53 spits during a 3 hour and 25 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 3.9 minutes.

So now Colvin has the record for the season, passing Dodger Matt Kemp’s spitacular effort of 23 on April 5th.  Sigh.  Wonder if he knows how gross that is.  And is it really helping him grip the bat??

And we received some disappointment again this season from Hunter Pence in the spit category.  He definitely spat after reaching second on an overthrow during this game.  Sigh.  No certificate for you this season.  Still love you though, Hunter.

So now that you’ve gotten your fill of spit, I’ll solve the other mystery.  Why do I think Michael Morse is even more marvelous than before?  Well, the other day I was watching a game with my hubby and noticed once again that Mike definitely has something in his mouth during games.  However, he as of yet hasn’t logged a spit in any of my spit counts.  How can you chew tobacco and not spit?  I asked this question out loud, and my wonderful hubby responded, “Why don’t you ask him on Twitter?”  DUH!!  Why didn’t I think of that?!  So I did.  I tweeted to him, “Hey Mike, just curious – what do you have in your mouth during games? Would guess tobacco, but somehow you never spit. I’m confused” (Note the missing period – ran out of characters.  The grammar Nazi in me had to let you know that.)  And he actually tweeted back, “@getGRINDS #tobaccofree”.  So the mystery is solved!  He uses Grinds, pouches of coffee grinds that give you energy without using tobacco.  I actually blogged about these last year – Bochy uses them as well.  That’s why Mike doesn’t spit – it’s just like drinking coffee.  Love it!  Just one more reason to love the guy (besides the fact that he responded to me!).  Gotta love the Twitter!  Keeping my fingers crossed that because of this, Mike ends up getting a certificate from me at the end of the season!

I have just a couple of other things I forgot to mention in the last blog.  How could I forget that George Kontos came back up with the big guys after Santiago Casilla went on the DL.  Once again making use of the Twitter, I tweeted to him, “Welcome back, George! Knew it would happen eventually. YAY!! Enjoy the fog!” and he favorited my tweet.  He’s been doing a fantastic job (well, except for the game on Monday night) and I’m so glad I get to look at that face regularly again.  Also did you notice Buster’s goatee??  Never thought he would join the facial hair bandwagon.  I’m not a fan.  It takes that baby face thing he has going on away from him.  He was even stroking it the other night.  What do you think?  Also made an interesting observation about Jean Machi.  On the mound before he pitches, he takes his gold chain off and puts it in his back pocket.  Smart guy.  I’ve often wondered how guys can play with chains around their neck.  Doesn’t that bother them?

Also forgot to mention previously that I was disappointed by Mike Krukow a few weeks ago.  I know – hard to believe as I love that guy, but it happened.  He was on KNBR during the Rockies series, and he was suggesting that Troy Tulowitzki could not possibly have as high a batting average as he did at home without getting signs for pitches.  When I heard him, I didn’t think he was kidding.  He kept emphasizing the fact.  You can decide for yourself – here’s the KNBR podcast (advance to 2:00).  That’s a pretty serious thing to accuse someone of.  Troy Tulowitzki got wind of this and was understandably not pleased.  He then proceeded to change his walk-up music to I Saw the Signs by Ace of Base.  So funny!  But the let down from Krukow was that he was asked about his comments later and said that he was just kidding.  Really?  You are someone who people respect and you outright lie like that?  So disappointing.  Kruk, I still love you, but next time watch what you say, and if you mess up, take responsibility for it.

Will close with a fun Taylor Swift sing-a-long that several of the MLB teams participated in through the Twitter.  Check this out.  So much fun!  Especially happy that the Giants were a part of it.

I hope I didn’t jinx things in my last blog, but since then the boys have lost two games to the Nats.  I know they have an amazing pitching staff, but I think we can pull off these next two behind Matty and Huddy.  I’m going to the game tomorrow with my brother Nick so I can cheer them on in person.  We’ll both be wearing our orange and black bracelets to bring them some magic.  Come on, Guys!  You can do it!  GO GIANTS!  TIE THE SERIES!!

Leave a Reply

