Two Wins in a Row! WOOHOO!!

I was so excited about my boys winning 2 games in a row that I just had to blog about it.  The last time they did that was two weeks ago vs. the D-Bags.  Isn’t it funny how your expectations change so much over a season?  Are they coming back?  Those bats sure woke up the last 2 days, even the long ball.  And the pitching has stayed stellar.  I sure hope they’re getting back to their winning ways.

Congrats to Madison Bumgarner and Hunter Pence on making the 2014 All-Star Team!  Both so deserve this.  I was disappointed that Tim Hudson didn’t as well, but hopefully he can take Madison’s place as he won’t be able to pitch that day (he’s scheduled to pitch the Sunday before the All-Star Game, and that wouldn’t give him enough rest).

Well, I guess Jeff Samardzija won’t be a Giant after all.  He was picked up by the A’s from the Cubs.  Wonder if the Giants had given up on him since the pitching has been pretty good lately.  Oh well, there is a bright side – at least I don’t have to learn how to spell that name (though they do call him “The Shark”, so I could have used that instead).  As the July 31st non-waiver trade deadline nears, I wonder if Brian Sabean has anything up his sleeve.  Seems like the biggest need is at second base (though Joe Panik had a really nice showing today) and more depth in the outfield.  We shall see.

Wanted to share a cute routine I’ve noticed lately.  Have you noticed that when Michael Morse reaches first base he head butts First Base Coach Roberto Kelly?  I even found a YouTube video of it – check it out (the head butt occurs at about 19 seconds in).  I love this!  Kelly doesn’t seem like the type who would go for this, but he plays along.  I think Michael Morse, with his never ending enthusiasm and energy, has become my favorite player on the team.  He did let me down today, though (details to follow).

I also noticed that Brandon Crawford changed one of his walk up songs recently.  He used to use Ellie Goulding’s Burn for one of his walk up songs and I would always rock out to it when I heard it.  Then at a recent game I noticed he changed it to something else, and I couldn’t figure it out.  Turns out it’s from Lady Gaga’s Applause, but it doesn’t start until part way into the chorus.  Here are the lyrics:

Give me that thing that I love (I’ll turn the lights out)

Put your hands up, make ‘em touch, touch (make it real loud)

I love his music choices, but I’m so curious as to why he chose this.  Does he like Lady Gaga, or does he want us to clap when he comes up to bat?  Or maybe just get excited?  I think I’ll ask him next time he blogs.  If you’re curious as to what each guy is using as their walk up music this season, here’s a link that has pretty up-to-date listings (even Crawford’s recent Lady Gaga change).  It’s not listed, but Santiago Casilla uses Cult of Personality by Living Colour.  I remember this because I love that song as well.

I’ve got 2 new spit counts for you from the recent Padres series (that we won!!).  Here you go:

July 4th

Giants:

–          Sandoval 4

–          Perez 2

–          Belt 2

–          Arias 1

–          Posey 1

–          Bochy 1

Padres:

–          Medica 5

–          Grandal 4

–          Smith 2

–          Amarista 1 (sunflower seeds)

–          Stults 1

–          Maybin 1

–          Goebbert 1

–          Headley 1

Game Spit Master General = Medica at 5

Giants Game Spit Master General = Sandoval at 4

That’s a total of 27 spits during a 2 hour and 35 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 5.7 minutes.

July 6th

Giants:

–          Belt 4

–          Lincecum 3

–          Arias 3

–          Affeldt 3

–          Posey 1

–          Meulens 1 (sunflower seeds)

–          Perez 1

–          Morse 1 (AAAAAAAHHHHHH!  But they were seeds)

–          ? 1 (one of the trainers)

Padres:

–          Hahn 4

–          Grandal 3

–          Denorfia 2

–          Goebbert 1

Misc.:

–          Umpire 1

Game Spit Master General = Tie between Belt and Hahn

That’s a total of 29 spits during a 2 hour and 55 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 6 minutes.

Both of these games had relatively low spit counts.  YAY!!  Keep it up, guys!  However, Pablo didn’t play in the second game (he got hit by a pitch on the arm), so that might have affected things.  Neither did Buster, but he showed up in the count anyway!  But alas, my boy Michael Morse showed up today for the first time.  I’m giving him some leeway because the spit I counted was sunflower seed expulsion, but I’m still disappointed.  Also the spit that the umpire logged occurred during a replay while he was standing there with headphones on.  Yeah, that’s a valid reason to spit.  NOT!!!

The boys take on the A’s this week.  Should be an amazing matchup as the A’s have the best record in baseball right now at 55 and 33.  I am so hoping that the momentum from the Padres series can fling my boys into a frenzy and they can bring it like they did at the beginning of the season.  Brandon Belt’s return has definitely made a difference in the offense.  And Hunter has done a great job at the front of the lineup.  Really looking forward to the next 4 games (and hoping I can make one of them in person somehow!).  Let’s hear that rally cry everybody!  GO GIANTS!  WIN THE BATTLE OF THE BAY!!

Leave a Reply

