Happy Mother’s Day to Me!

I was so happy that it worked out for me and my sister to go to the game on Mother’s Day.  I didn’t want to spend a ton of money, but we were able to get Field Level seats for a decent price, so YAY!  Everything about it was great (except for the fact we didn’t get the scarf giveaway even though we got there an hour early).  Think it’s time for a list of the great things that happened that day:

  • We got free parking. The meters on Mariposa right near the park were empty when we got there, and meters are free on Sundays.  SCORE!  I had never done that before, and we would not have noticed this time if we hadn’t been turned back at Parking lot A for some reason that day.
  • Got to hang out with one of my favorite people in the world, my sister, and talk baseball all day.
  • Treated myself to a crab sandwich. I had forgotten how amazingly yummy those things are.  Bummer that they raised the price another dollar this season ($17).
  • While in line for said sandwich, got complimented on the Giants themed Vans that my daughter made for me. I gave the girl one of my bracelets for being awesome.
  • Our seats were great – in the shade on Field Level between home and first.
  • Had a great view of my boy Michael Morse at first base (they played the Marlins that day). Was so happy to see the videos of him getting his ring a few days before.  He was like a little kid at Christmas!  And what was up with Cain goosing him???
  • Got to sit next to an adorable 20-month-old little girl who was saying “GO GIANTS” and clapping the entire game. Gave her mom one of my bracelets for Mother’s Day.
  • Vogey pitched, and he did a fantastic job. Wore my Vogey shirt in his honor.  I knew he would come through both this game and the last one he pitched because his previous start was stinky and he always does better when he’s angry.
  • WE WON! And with a walk-off hit from Matt Duffy to boot!  It was such a great game.  Everyone was high fiving at the end.  Hearing Tony sing is always marvelous.

Of course, no trip to AT&T would be complete without the tallest man in the world sitting right in front of me.  It never fails.  Thankfully it was only for about three innings as he came late and left early.  That’s one of my biggest pet peeves – why do people only watch the game for such a short time when they’ve paid good money for those seats??  Give them up to someone who really cares!

Matt Duffy said something interesting in his post game interview.  He mentioned that he had planned out the 9th inning ahead of time in his head, and he knew that if he got up that inning, it would be with the bases loaded and 2 outs.  He said that way he could prepare himself ahead of time for that situation and not be as nervous.  Isn’t that brilliant?  What a smart dude!  It was also cute that he mentioned he would be giving the bat he got that hit with to his mom.  AW!!

After the game, we were listening to KNBR on the way home, and a guy called in saying that he and a bunch of his family went to the game wearing Duffy jerseys in honor of his brother who had passed away.  His brother’s name was Duffy.  He said it was so appropriate that Duffy won the game for the team that day.  The only problem was that their jerseys all had the number 50 on them (Duffy recently changed his number to 5).  Bummer for them, but I’m sure they didn’t really care.  What a great moment for that family.  Maybe Duffy had a little extra help that day.

Learned something new about Casey McGehee that I’m kind of surprised I hadn’t heard about yet.  He has a kid with cerebral palsy.  Here’s a video he did years back with his wife and son.  McGehee and his wife are supporters of United Cerebral Palsy, and fans and teammates in the past have shown support for the organization in their honor as well.  I would imagine there will be something in the future involving the Giants and this organization.  I hope so.  Makes me want to pull for McGehee even more, and thankfully he’s been hitting a little better recently.

The other day I was watching a Kansas City Royals game at my mom’s house with my brothers, and something happened that I had never seen before.  The batter hit the ball, it bounced just to the right of the first base foul line, but it had some spit on it and it came back into fair territory before it got past first base.  A player picked it up and threw it to first before the batter got there (the batter thought it was foul and wasn’t running), and he was out.  WHAT??  I thought once the ball bounced foul it was a foul.  Apparently not.  According to the official MLB definition of foul ball, it is “a batted ball that settles on foul territory between home and first base.”  It’s only ruled foul once it stops or once someone picks it up.  Thus even though it bounced out, it rolled back in and was fair.  Always learning new, crazy things here.

I was excited to see that I have a new blog follower, and I don’t even know her!  I would like to give a warm welcome to Zelda.  Thanks for reading!

I have a couple new spit counts for you.  Here you go:

May 9th

Giants:

  • Bumgarner 6
  • McGehee 5
  • Lincecum 2
  • Aoki 2
  • Belt 2
  • Vogelsong 2
  • Machi 2
  • Kelly 1
  • Hayes 1
  • Maxwell 1
  • Bochy 1 (seeds)
  • Pagan 1
  • ? 1 (some coach in the dugout)

Marlins:

  • Realmuto 13
  • Hechavarria 4
  • Prado 2
  • Stanton 2 (seeds)
  • Ramos 1
  • Solano 1
  • Redmond 1

Misc.:

  • Umpire 1

Game Spit Master General = Realmuto at 13

Giants Game Spit Master General = Bumgarner at 6

That’s a total of 52 spits during a 3 hour and 25 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 3.9 minutes.

Surprisingly, Bum’s count of 6 sets the record for the Giants this season.  My boys are nowhere near the records for other teams so far.  Keep it up, Guys!  Sadly though, it is obvious that Casey McGehee is chewing tobacco by the way he spits.  Sigh.  Since this was a Bumgarner start, I also recorded his snot rockets – he logged 4 today.

May 13th

Giants:

  • McGehee 5
  • Pagan 3
  • Belt 2
  • Bumgarner 2
  • Lincecum 1
  • Arias 1

Reds:

  • Votto 7
  • Frazier 7
  • Negron 3
  • Marquis 2
  • Mesoraco 2
  • Cozart 1
  • Badenhop 1
  • Lorenzen 1
  • Byrd 1
  • Mattheus 1

Game Spit Master General = Tie between Votto and Frazier at 7

Giants Game Spit Master General = McGehee at 5

That’s a total of 40 spits during a 2 hour and 50 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 4.3 minutes.

Madison expelled 3 snot rockets during this game.

I was sad to see the PNC Power Stacks at Great American Ballpark on fire last night.  That was my favorite park feature during our baseball trip in 2012.  Wasn’t that crazy?  Apparently it was caused by a malfunctioning propane valve, and the fire started due to some fireworks that went off.  And the game just went on while that stack was burning.  Kind of ridiculous that they didn’t stop until it was put out.  I did learn something about that feature from the broadcasters.  There are 14 bats that surround the top of the two stacks, and they represent the number Pete Rose wore, 14.  Major League Baseball has restricted his number from being displayed due to him being cited for gambling on baseball, and that’s how the team got around the ban to honor him.

Hope the boys can pull off another great win there tonight.  Wasn’t the offense last night fantastic??  And Belt got his first homerun of the season, plus two other hits.  Hopefully this will be the start of a streak for him.  Panik has an 11-hit streak going, and Posey and McGehee have been hitting better of late (Posey got another homer yesterday).  And the pitching has settled down and seems to be better.  Not sure what happened with Timmy and the sliding the other day – I felt so bad for him!  That’s so scary, and he really could have hurt himself.  It cracked me up that he was using a fork to get the dirt off his cleats!  Whatever works, I guess!  The thing I’m most excited about is that HUNTER’S BACK!!  And he’s in the lineup for today’s game!!!!  HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!  I’m so happy for him – I’m sure he’s raring to go, and we’re raring to see him play again!  Hope he can bring some energy back to the clubhouse and help us to keep winning.  Welcome back, Kid!  We’ve missed you!  Until next time, GO GIANTS!!!  KEEP THE MOMENTUM GOING!!

Leave a Reply

