Off to the Big Apple

The roller coaster of a Giants season has continued since I last blogged.  We swept the Brewers (which we should have because they stink), we split the series with the Braves, we were swept by the Pirates (sigh), and we took 2 of 3 from the Phillies (who we should have swept because they also stink).  The boys have really got to take advantage of those weaker teams and get those brooms out!  They start the series against the Mets tonight, and surprisingly this season the Mets are a force to be reckoned with.  They are at the top of their division, but we actually have a better winning percentage than they do, so I’m looking forward to some really entertaining games between the two (and hopefully we at least take the series!).

The boys got to go to the White House again this last week to celebrate their World Series victory last year.  I loved seeing the pictures of all my boys dressed up.  Some of the boys were really stylin’, including Santiago Casilla with his purple suit and Gregor Blanco with his pink jacket.  They looked like they really had a good time there.  I think it meant the most to Tim Hudson, since it was the first trip there of his career.  He said, “It’s a thrill for all of us, but especially for me.  I spent a long time waiting for this opportunity, and this is why I came to San Francisco.”  He was even one of the lucky guys mentioned in the President’s speech about them.  Loved the President’s comments about Madison’s post-game celebrations!  I was happy that Michael Morse got to join them (and loved that checkered jacket!).  Sad that Timmy, Ishi, and Kruk and Kuip weren’t there.  Even though it was the third time for some of the guys, I would imagine that kind of stuff just doesn’t get old.

There was some naughtiness going on as the boys were lining up on the risers that you may have missed.  Those boys are always clowning around with each other and messing with the rookies.  Check out this video that Alex Pavlovic shared on Twitter.  When I first saw it, I didn’t know what was going on, but watch as Matt Cain walks up, and observe the reaction of Matt Duffy.  I think Brandon Crawford was in on the whole thing by the way he looked back before the incident occurred!  Maybe he dared Cain to do it.  Such sillies!

There’s been some roster movement since last I blogged.  Both Travis Ishikawa and Casey McGehee ended up accepting assignments to the Sacramento River Cats (YAY!  Glad they’re still with us!), then Casey was brought back up when Jean Machi was put on the disabled list due to a left groin strain (um…ouch and awkward).  Casey apparently lit it up when he went down to Triple A, hitting .357 with two home runs in just 10 games.  He’s only had one at bat since he’s been up because Matt Duffy has continued to impress, but I’m sure he’s happy to be hanging out with the big boys again.  Hunter Pence wasn’t put on the DL, but he’s been out since last Wednesday with a sore left wrist.  He may be back in the lineup tonight – I sure hope so!  Erik Cordier was designated for assignment after his rehab assignment ended, then he decided to explore free agency instead, then a few days later was picked up again by the Giants.  Things that make you go hmmmm…  The Giants also signed left fielder Kevin Frandsen to a minor league contract.  Frandsen played for the Giants from 2006 to 2009.

I came across a couple of interesting plays I wanted to share with you.  I love this kind of stuff.  First off, check out Jose Bautista being awarded a double after he hit a pitch that John Danks balked on.  I thought the ball was dead once the balk was called, but this is not true.  According to MLB rule 8.05, if there are runners on base and the batter reaches first on a hit, “the play proceeds without reference to the balk.”  So basically if the final outcome of the balk is positive for the offense, they get to take advantage of it.  Here’s one you’ve probably only ever seen in little league – a player walking on a count of three balls.  Yes.  Here’s proof.  Watch the pitch count in the lower left corner.  Joey Votto is one lucky guy.  How could no one have realized this mistake??  Definitely a head scratcher.  Who knows how that could have changed the outcome of that game (even though it ended up being a blowout).

I went to the Braves game with my brother Paul and my niece Giuliana on May 31st.  What a great day we had.  And that kid is such a trooper for being only 5-years old.  We got to the game about an hour early and took her on the Coke slides.  Then we got our lunch and settled into our seats. P and I got Chicago dogs – hadn’t had one in a while, and boy are they good!  We sat on the View Level but still had a great view of my boys.  I actually like sitting up there sometimes and being able to have a good view of the entire field, especially the outfield.  The game was extremely exciting (including back-to-back homeruns by the Brandons) up until the end when the boys had a win in their grasp several times and let it slip away.  After the game, we took G to run around the bases.  I was disappointed that they wouldn’t let me run with her (she wanted me to), but I did get a See’s candy butterscotch sucker out of the deal.  I have to take a minute to brag about my amazing niece.  First off, she knows all the Giants players’ names and actually watched the game.  She didn’t whine ever during the entire game, even with the extra hour before and extra hour after.  Love going to games with that kid.  Since we lost that day, my record for the season now stands at 2 and 1.  Can’t wait to go again!

Here’s the latest spit count.  Andrew Susac continues to disappoint…

May 30th

Giants:

  • Susac 13
  • Lincecum 4
  • Petit 3
  • Duffy 2
  • Belt 2
  • Bochy 2 (seeds)
  • Wotus 1
  • Kontos 1 (huge spray when leaving mound – sheesh!)

Braves:

  • Peterson 16
  • Perez 3
  • Bethancourt 3
  • Markakis 3

Misc.:

  • Umpire 1

Game Spit Master General = Peterson at 16

Giants Game Spit Master General = Susac at 13

That’s a total of 54 spits during a 2 hour and 50 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 3.1 minutes.

Peterson of the Braves was obviously chewing tobacco.  Shame!  Even though Andrew Susac didn’t match the record he set last time, he continued to make a name for himself on the spitting front.  And George – don’t you realize the ladies hate the saliva sprays??  That was horrible!

I’m really bummed that I’m not going to be able to watch any of the Mets series as I’ll either be working or taking Mom to bingo.  Why couldn’t Thursday be a day game??  This should be a very competitive series (I hope!).  We’ll be seeing their best pitching, so I hope the boys keep those bats hot.  Wishing my starting pitchers strength against the boys from the Big Apple.  Just keep it together.  You can do it.  You’ve done it before.  We’re only one game behind those pesky Dodgers.  GO GIANTS!!  TAKE THE SERIES FROM THE METS!

Leave a Reply

