They Won a Series, They Tied a Series…

…and they’re going to lose the next series.  There.  I said it.  I said what everyone is thinking.  Since Peavy and Cain are the next two pitchers in line for starts, we are going to lose the next series.  Besides the fact that the Blue Jays will be throwing three stellar pitchers at us (Aaron Sanchez, J.A. Happ, and Marcus Stroman with ERAs of 2.82, 2.5, and 3.6 respectively), their lineup is packed with power.  The way things have been going for Jake and Matt, I’m seriously afraid of what is going to happen in the next two days.  The TV may get turned off.  I never do that.  This is coming from a true optimist – the glass-half-full girl.  I’m dreading the next two days.

What are we going to do about these guys?  How much longer can we go on giving them chances and hoping that things will somehow magically change?  From what I’ve heard in the media, Bochy will at least give them a couple more starts before taking drastic measures.  So that’s 4 more games pretty much thrown away.  I love the guys, but can we afford to do this?  I’m also not really sure there is an alternative at this point.  Heston seems the most likely replacement if one of them should take a break.  But we don’t have a Petit or Vogelsong to fill in for the other.  And it sounds like none of the kids are ready to come up.  A true dilemma.

At least we basically have three aces at the top of the rotation.  They’ve been pitching beautifully.  They’ve been getting the wins.  It’s also a shame that they haven’t been getting any support offensively, though.  The Cueto game on Saturday should never have gone into extra innings – the guy pitched a shutout 8 1/3 innings and didn’t even get credited with a win!  Then the next day Samardzija pitches a gem, giving up only 2 runs in 7 2/3 innings and gets absolutely no run support.  The runs will come, though.  I’m not worried about that.  This is the same lineup that was almost entirely batting above .300 for a long stretch last season.  They’ll pull it together.  And I seriously think that when Brandon Belt signed that long term contact, the huge sigh of relief he breathed also breathed some life into him.  I think just knowing that he is truly wanted in SF has worked wonders for him.  His at bats have been a joy to watch.

I was lucky enough to go to the game today.  I went with my wonderful sister (she got the tickets for us – Field Level in the shade – my favorite place to sit!).  Everything about the day was fabulous, except that they didn’t win of course.  We got to watch Samardzija pitch a beauty, we got the fantastic giveaway (we went extra early this year to be sure to get it – a really nice Giants bag), we got to see the boys in their pink cleats, we got to eat hot dogs, I got a sundae, we got to share each other’s company, we got to cheer for our boys, it turned out to be a beautiful day, and we even got free popcorn near the end of the game (they give it away after the 7th inning – we sat right in front of the popcorn vendor).  Just wish they could have pulled off a win for us.

I made an observation about Johnny Cueto on Saturday while watching the game.  You know how the announcers are always talking about how a good catcher will give the pitcher a clear target with his glove?  Well, Cueto pitches so fast that he doesn’t even give Buster time to get his glove down after he gives the signal!  Watch this in his next start.  So basically Cueto can find his target without the catcher!  Just shows you how truly amazing and accurate this guy is.  And what a quick-acting catcher Buster is.  I like it!

I wanted to be sure and congratulate Hunter Pence on his accomplishment last week.  He was named the NL Player of the Week.  In the six games he played that week, he tied for the Major League lead with 10 RBI, had the NL’s second-highest slugging percentage (.895), NL’s 5th highest batting average (.421 – 8 for 19), NL’s 4th highest OBP (.500), and NL’s 7th highest total bases (17).  During this period he also hit two home runs and had four runs scored.  Congrats, Hunter!  Hope some of that rubs off on the other guys!

Did anyone watch Timmy’s showcase on Friday?  I wanted to, but by the time I got home from work it was already over.  Still very surprised that it was televised in the first place.  If you missed it like me, here’s a video of Timmy discussing it with some of the highlights.  A couple of things struck me about it:  His upper body seems much more buff and I had forgotten how little he is.  His stuff seemed to be pretty good.  We’ll have to see if anyone rushes in and makes him an offer.  I hope he lands anywhere besides a certain area in Southern California.  A spot on the Giants would be extra nice, whether or not he can solve the starter crisis.

I have a new spit count for you.  Samardzija became my new hero during this game.  You’ll see why…

May 3rd

Giants:

  • Span 6
  • Bochy 2
  • Casilla 2
  • Posey 1
  • Belt 1
  • Cueto 1
  • Samardzija 1

Reds:

  • Phillips 5
  • Barnhart 4
  • Votto 3
  • Holt 2
  • Bruce 2 (1 was a spray)
  • Hamilton 1 (seeds)
  • DeJesus 1

Game Spit Master General = Span at 6

That’s a total of 32 spits during a 3 hour and 5 minute game for an average of 1 spit every 5.8 minutes.

Matt Duffy continued his snot rocket streak with one this outing.  At least he didn’t spit.  So why is Samardzija my hero?  Because he was the starting pitcher during this game, lasted 8 innings, and only logged one spit!  Plus the one spit didn’t occur until the 8th inning!  He’s also my hero for breaking his bat over his knee after striking out late in the game.  If you missed that, here’s the video.  So funny!  Plus I love how many times they showed the bat break during the game.  At least 100.  I’m not exaggerating.

So here we go.  The Blue Jays for three at the beginning of the week, then my boys travel to Arizona for four against the D-Bags.  Holding my breath.  Of course, I’ll be watching it all.  Well, at least until it gets out of hand and I go for the remote.  Really trying hard to be positive, but it sure is tough right now.  Until next time, GO GIANTS!!  PLEASE PROVE ME WRONG!!

Leave a Reply

