It Never Fails!

It never fails – if I post a blog, the next day something important happens.  And boy did it happen today!  The Giants signed one of the guys they’ve had their eye on for a while to be their new closer.  Mark Melancon is now a Giant!  Giddy up!!  The Giants have signed him to a 4 year, $62 million deal, a record for a closer (but of course, this record will be shattered once Aroldis Chapman gets his deal).  This is such amazing news!  I mentioned his impressive stats yesterday.  I can’t help but wonder how many more games we would have won last season with him as our closer.  Add him to a full year of Matt Moore and possibly Ty Blach as starters next season and I think we’ll be in great shape.    Bobby Evans said, regarding the signing, “The core of our bullpen is in place.  We felt the closer was one area we didn’t want to have any doubt about.”  Just having such a strong closer will also help take the stress off the rest of the bullpen, who last season never knew if they would be called upon to pitch in the ninth inning.  Nice to have someone to count on in that role.  I don’t know much about Melancon (except I seem to recall that he doesn’t have much of a neck – sorry, Mark!) so I’m anxious to hear some interviews with him.  I’m sure that will be happening in the next few days.  I did find an article – 10 things you should know about him.  Pretty darn impressive.  Also found this video.  I like him already, especially the way he speaks of his wife.  And the guy sure is a thrill seeker!  He should fit right in with my boys, especially Jeff “Shark” Samardzija.  Haha!  Welcome to the team, Mark!  We’re so very glad you came!  I can breathe again!

I also heard some other trade rumors on KNBR this afternoon from John Lund.  He mentioned that the Giants are still interested in pursuing J.D. Martinez from the Tigers to bolster the outfield.  He’s a guy who could help both offensively and defensively while not breaking the bank.  I love that guy and chose him as a Beat the Streak pick several times, so I know he can hit.  Along with J.D., another possible target for the Giants is left-handed reliever and fellow initial user J.P. Howell.  He had a 4.09 ERA, 1.44 WHIP, and 44 strikeouts last season.  J.P. played for the Dodgers – always love taking players away from them!  Maybe since I’m posting this today we’ll hear something tomorrow!  Stay tuned!

Keep up the great work, Bobby Evans!  Will continue to update you if the Giants make any more moves.  Until next time, GO GIANTS!!

Leave a Reply

